Week in the Mountains – Fri, Sat, Sun

Continuing my blogging about my time up in the mountains…

Friday:

Jeremy drove up as soon as he was off work Friday morning, and met us up at the cabin around 9 am.

Baby Sandwich!

When the baby fell asleep, so we left her at the cabin with my parents while we went on a hike/letterboxing hunt. We didn’t find what we were looking for (though we did find some rocks known as “Banana Boat Rock” and “Butt Crack Rock”).

After lunch we actually passed out and took a nice long nap together as a family. 🙂

Jeremy and I had a nice little date night dinner at Neo’s Pizza in the “big town” down the hill.

Note: I do continue to cloth diaper in the mountains. Friday was the only day I had to wash them, and they lasted the entire rest of the time we were there. I also got to try air drying them on a clothes line! I was actually very excited about that, as I have heard that they last longer and hold up better when dried on a line (as do all clothes, by the way!). I am happy that our new apartment we will be moving to next month has a balcony/patio that I can hang a line to air dry them more in the future, because I liked it. 🙂

Saturday:

We started the day with a walk around the lake with my mom and Blueberry. While we were there, we snagged a quick and easy geocache behind the boathouse – GVL Frog Hotel.

Geocaching - GVL Frog Hotel

And of course I couldn’t help taking a photo of the peddle boat Blueberry’s Pops named after her!

The Charlotte J.

After our walk, we headed down to “the big town” (Running Springs) for their Farmer’s Market. My mom tie-dyed a shirt, and we picked up some fruits and veggies. When we got back up to GVL, we grabbed some food and a map of the town with the locations of the local Artisans Workshop thing they had going on. (All the local craftspeople either open up their homes, or put a table out front with their wares) We picked a few off the list that sounded interested, and started driving around. Memorial Day weekend is also a big weekend for people to set out yard sale stuff, so we stopped by one of those as well. I picked up a super cute blue vintage suitcase that I plan to put all of Blueberry’s blankets in.

Back at the house, we started prepping for company: 4 of my parents friends from back home (they were camping over in Arrowhead), and 1 friend from around town. 9 people (plus a baby) in a tiny cabin is quite a few too many, so we took the dinner party out back and set up a folding table and pulled up some chairs. Ribs, corn, salad, and asparagus. Yum!

After dinner we took turns zipping up and down the street on the electric bikes (from Pedego), and Larry’s Honda 70. Those electric bikes are actually WAY fun! My dad took me on a little excursion on them after dinner – up through the campgrounds, and then up and through one of the fire roads and back down around to the cabin.

Sunday:

My mom had been talking about hiking “Bear Scratch Trail” all week, and we finally got around to doing it on Sunday morning. Jeremy strapped Blueberry on, and I grabbed the backpack and off we all headed – on a much longer hike than I had anticipated!

My parents call it “Bear Scratch Trail” because the first time they hiked it, they saw bear prints, and some bear scratches in the ground near the start of it. Kinda scary, but we didn’t see any signs of anything other than deer on this trip.

The trail goes up and along the ridge above the fire road my dad and I had taken on the bikes the night before, and then drops back down into the campgrounds where Jeremy and I had gone hiking on our own (where Banana Boat Rock and Butt Crack Rock are). I had brought coordinates to several geocaches that were supposedly pretty close by where we were hiking, but they all turned out to be too far out of the way from where we were hiking to make any real sense to go after (the first one I climbed all the way up the mountain through thorn bushes, only to find nothing… so yea…).

Once we got back to the main road that went through the campground, my parents convinced us to take the “scenic route” up another path that “just follows the road, but up above…” I call shenanigans! That way was way longer, and we accidentally ended up walking through a couple peoples’ campsites at the end of it before we got back to the main road.

We passed back by “The Big Tan Can” geocache, and I ran up to it real quick to add another log (the last time we’d been up there, I signed on the last line, and felt bad leaving no room for the next cacher to sign).

Like I said, that entire hike was WAY longer than I thought it would be, and I didn’t put on sunscreen first. I ended up with a pretty bad burn on my shoulders (and the part of my scalp where my hair was parted!).

Later, Jeremy asked me if I would take him on the same bike ride my dad and I had gone on the night before. So we left a sleeping Blueberry with my parents again, and headed out with our geocaching gear.

Turns out geocache #3 wasn’t as far off the trail as we’d originally thought… And would have been much easier to reach from the hiking trail rather than the fire road where we were buzzing around on the bikes…

Jeremy found Ride to Craft’s Peak after a hike up a very steep incline, and shimmying under a scrubby little bush/tree and hanging over the side of a rock… Now, I’m not complaining. I think the adventure and whatnot is what really makes it fun, haha. Then again, I didn’t have to shimmy under a bush…

But we did find our very first trackable in there!

Geocaching - Ride to Craft's Peak!

The trackable is in memory of their little pup who passed away. We plan to attach it to something special before we send it on to its next cache (down at one of the caches by our local Dog Beach).

Later that night, I wasn’t feeling so good. Between the sunburn, some dehydration from the long hike, sleeping on a not-so-great mattress for the last week, and just general fatigue, I was kind of just ready to go home. We were supposed to leave around 4pm Monday, but Jeremy could tell I was done, and just needed to come home, so we left GVL around 8.30 on Sunday night. As much as I love the mountains, I will admit that I was very happy to sleep in my own bed last night, and am looking forward to the same tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

