Traveling with Babies

This week is a whole slew of special occasions. Thursday is Jeremy’s friend’s birthday. Friday is my Mom’s birthday. Saturday is Jeremy’s birthday. Sunday is Mother’s Day…

KODAK Digital Still Camera

So naturally we are getting the heck out of dodge this weekend to avoid all that crap! Haha just kidding. Well, we /are/ going out of town, but not to avoid it. We will be going up to my parents’ cabin in the mountains with them this weekend (where we will, indeed celebrate both my mom’s and Jeremy’s birthdays). My mom and I are leaving to go up on Friday mid-day, and my dad and Jeremy will meet us up there on Saturday, since both of them work until Saturday morning.

Just a short trip, nothing major. But we are looking forward to doing some geocaching in nature (urban geocaching definitely has some limitations… like LOTS OF MUGGLES EVERYWHERE!!), and mom says there is even a place that does karaoke on Saturdays. 🙂

As I talked to my mom about heading up there this weekend, my brain went into overdrive just thinking about all of the extra crap I’m going to have to bring now that I have a baby! On top of all of my own clothes and toiletries, I will also have to bring Blueberry’s bouncer, enough cloth diapers to last her the weekend, warm clothes and blankets in case it gets cold, shorter sleeved clothes because it’s hot during the day, her carrier, diaper wipes… I could go on, but I think you get the gist. (Not to mention I need to bring cake mix to bake a cake up there for the birthdays)

I guess I’m just coming to the realization that the baby is going to need a duffel bag all to herself, whereas Jeremy and I are planning to share one between the two of us.

All of that aside, I am definitely looking forward to heading up there this weekend, and getting some time out in nature. Hiking, biking, swimming in the lake, snuggling up by the fire… 🙂

This will be our first real trip going anywhere with the baby, and I’m sure I’ll probably forget SOMETHING that’ll make me kick myself… Does anyone have any tips for traveling with a baby? Or anything that I absolutely NEED to pack?

Leave a Reply

