Cupcakes!!

Let me just go out on a limb and say… I LOVE CUPCAKES!!

If you read my old blog at all, you know just how much I love cupcakes! When Jeremy and I still lived with our old roommates, I used to bake cupcakes all the time – at least a batch a week, sometimes more. I really liked experimenting with different kinds of cupcakes each week.

The problem I had was setting aside every week to bake a batch (Btw, in my universe, a “batch” did not equal a dozen cupcakes. A “batch” was more like 3-4 dozen cupcakes usually). It took about an hour and a half just to mix up the batter and the frosting, and another hour and a half to two hours to cook up all the cupcakes (when you only have one muffin tin, it’s kind of a pain).

So you can only imagine how excited I was to find a cupcake recipe that makes just two cupcakes. TWO!! How cool is that?

I’ve always wanted to take some kind of food challenge. Think Julie and Julia , that movie where she cooks different dishes every day for a year. But honestly, I don’t like cooking. I like baking, though. And cupcakes. Mmm, cupcakes.

So I am thinking about taking on a food challenge of my own: make different cupcakes every day for a year. Ok, maybe a year is a little long to commit to. Maybe I should start with a month. Or a week.

What do you think? Different flavors of cupcakes (for as long as I can manage)? Sounds like a delicious, delicious challenge to me!

 

So for today’s kitchen escapade, I made chocolate cupcakes with mint frosting, covered in chocolate chips. 🙂

image

On the old blog, I used to follow my cupcake pictures and whatnot with feedback – what everyone thought of the cupcakes.

 

Chocolate Cupcakes with Mint Frosting and Chocolate Chips:

The frosting was delicious! The texture was good. The cupcake itself was a little less chocolatey than I would have liked. Tasted a little flour-y… Next time I try the chocolate (it’s really a staple), I’m going to try to add more chocolate flavor. The texture was good a fluffy, cooked nicely and evenly all the way through. Jeremy thinks we would have done better with mini chocolate chips instead of the normal size.

Leave a Reply

